Happy Father’s Day!

Posted: June 18, 2006 in U.S.

FATHER. DADDY. DAD. BABA. ABA. Pere. Papa… Папа..

You get the picture!

Mrs. John B. Dodd, of Washington, first proposed the idea of a "father's day" in 1909. Mrs. Dodd wanted a special day to honor her father, William Smart. William Smart, a Civil War veteran, was widowed when his wife (Mrs. Dodd's mother) died in childbirth with their sixth child. Mr. Smart was left to raise the newborn and his other five children by himself on a rural farm in eastern Washington state. It was after Mrs. Dodd became an adult that she realized the strength and selflessness her father had shown in raising his children as a single parent.

The first Father's Day was observed on June 19, 1910 in Spokane Washington. At about the same time in various towns and cities across American other people were beginning to celebrate a "father's day." In 1924 President Calvin Coolidge supported the idea of a national Father's Day. Finally in 1966 President Lyndon Johnson signed a presidential proclamation declaring the 3rd Sunday of June as Father's Day.

Today my daughters are trying hard to surprise and please me. This is a gift unto its own: when we have children who are proud of us, who love us and who think we're the "best father in the universe."

Today is my lucky and special day: that my daughters can celebrate this day with me, laugh with and at me, call me "wacko," sing with me, correct me, listen to me, disobey me, hug me, kiss me, tell me stories and jokes and so on. Today they're happier than I am because this day means so much to them.

It means so much to me that they feel this way.

Happy Father's Day.

Leave a Reply

